Archive

Search This Blog

What Is Kefir?

Kefir is a cultured, fermented beverage that tastes a great deal like a yogurt drink. It’s made using “starter” grains, just as sourdough bread has a “starter.” This starter is a combination of yeasts, milk proteins, and bacteria. It has a tart, creamy flavour, and it’s loaded with probiotic microorganisms. Kefir is most commonly made with dairy milk, but it can be made with non-dairy alternatives including: coconut milk, goat’s milk, rice milk, coconut water. Because kefir is fermented, most people who are lactose intolerant can actually drink kefir. Kefir is now widely accessible in most places. It can be found in some form in most grocery stores near the dairy or yogurt. It’s often used to improve digestion.

What Is Kefir? (Healthline)

No comments: